Consistency is the key to your success. Do you believe that statement? I do. It has been proven that it takes 21 days to create a habit. In his book, Psycho-Cybernetics, Dr. Maxwell Maltz discusses how he realized that it took 21 days for amputees to no longer feel the  phantom sensations in an amputated limb.

(As a plastic surgeon), he also noticed that many of his customers retained a poor self image even after having surgery which improved their appearance. This prompted him to work with his clients’ self image prior to surgery, and he discovered that he could assist them to acquire an improved self image without surgery, using the same 21-day period to create changes in their mindset, and that surgery then became unnecessary for them.

http://answers.google.com/answers/threadview/id/786165.html

With this knowledge, we can look at our own actions and consider the question, how consistent are we and how does this consistency (or lack of) directly affect others perception of me? At work, do you say you are going to get a task completed by a certain date and then make excuses for why it is not on time? Do you say you are going to workout and you start out hard, then fizzle off after a few days? Are you always late or always early? Over the last few weeks, I’ve silently been reviewing relationships and the expectations that are placed on them and I realize that a large part of the expectation is consistency. Can I count on this person to do what they say they are going to do? We can even make this more simple, do I expect people to be kind to me, yet I am not kind to other people? Do I expect people to care about my wants, yet I am indifferent to theirs? I believe that consistency is truly at the crux of success, whether big or small, public or private. A long time ago, my mother taught me that you have to teach people how to treat you. Recognizing this, am I consistent in demanding certain behaviors around me? Consistency lends itself to results. If you are not getting the results that you want, are you consistent to your commitment? Don’t expect to have a lean body, if you’re not willing to work hard consistently to get it. Don’t expect to get clients/customers if you don’t consistently promote your business. In my line of work, people are always looking for grand results, but they are not always willing to commit to the consistency that it takes to get those results. Are you looking for a new job or career change? In today’s economy, it’s easy to just sit back and focus on all of the negative aspects of your situation, but you will never get the job/career that you want if you are not consistent with your search.

Today, as I look at my own commitments and my consistency, I challenge you to do the same thing. What areas are you not getting the ROI that you expect, then look at the “I”, your investment and see if they match? Personal or professional, consistency is a key to your success and a huge part of your brand. Can you rely on yourself to be consistent in whatever is important to you? Then, go create that positive habit. If you need help, there is a great website, www.stickk.com that allows you to determine what habit you would like to create (or break) and gives you tools to be successful.


