This is a quick post about the movie (and the book), The Help by Kathryn Stockett . Have you seen the movie or read the book? I saw the movie a few weeks ago and cannot get the chocolate pie out of my mind. Ha Ha. I’d love to hear your thoughts about the story and if you think things have changed much. I was really excited about a story that was told from the perspective of the maid, not the family. I also enjoyed how true to life the story is. I’ve spoken with several friends whose mothers or grandmothers were maids. Greater than those two thoughts is the conversation I think The Help has reignited. Have we really learned anything? Is there still prejudice between classes, economic and social? I believe there is. Right now, many of our social and economic issues are based on class status and wrapped around the other differences between us. Our world is so much smaller these days, but that may be increasing our polarizing views of those we perceive as different instead of helping us to embrace and enjoy our similarities. So, tell me – what do you think?

Also, if you’re really interested in “The Help”, bzzagent has chosen the book as its daily bzzcampaign. Join me as a bzzagent to be a part of this conversation.

