One of the bible verses that I find myself consistently meditating on is “Be still, and know that I am God.” (Psalm 46:10) I love to reflect on this verse because it not only reminds me that I am not the center of the universe, but also that I am loved, protected and have purpose, even when I feel the most lonely and vulnerable.

But, what I find difficult is the instruction. Be still. What?!?! I have plans, schedules, expectations. How can I be still? First, I have to understand exactly what being still means. Is it to sit in a quiet moment and try to reach deep into my still core? Is it to not act when a situation occurs and I want to get my point across? Is it just knowing that I don’t have to make big, life changing decisions neither alone nor at all because God has me in his sight?

Second, I have to act on what I understand still to be. But, wait a minute. What if it’s all of the reasons I listed above. Heck, maybe being still means I don’t have to understand what being still means. Maybe I just have to trust.

As we approach the end of this year’s Holy Week, I’ve chosen to just relax and allow God’s spirit to move in and around me. That’s my still. My still affects my partnership, my career, my relationships because it affects my emotions and sense of well being. It helps me to recognize my center and know that I must protect it. Most importantly, my still grants me peace.

I implore you to consider what your still is and to give yourself permission to be whatever it is to you. Whether you have it all together or everything is falling apart at the seams, recognize that you can simply be still and know that you are blessed, even in the eye of the storm. And even if you’ve chosen not to believe in a higher power, you still need to find your center and you do that by being motionless .

Happy Easter!

